Buying guide

Skutt Pottery Wheel Review

We research products independently. When you buy through links on this page, we may earn a commission from Amazon at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more.

Skutt is a name most potters know from kilns. Its pottery wheels, which grew out of the Thomas Stuart line Skutt bought, are less famous than Brent's, but they're serious studio machines: continuous-duty motors, cast frames, a 10-year parts and labor warranty, and a design focused on easy cleanup. The current lineup is short. There are three models, the Prodigy, the Legend and the Classic, and the main differences are the wheel head, the splash pan and the price.

This Skutt pottery wheel review covers all three, explains Skutt's motor claims, and compares Skutt with Brent and Shimpo. Our short verdict: the Legend is the Skutt to buy for most potters. Choose the Classic if you want a built-in splash pan that never moves, and the Prodigy if you want the Skutt name at a lower price and can live with a 12-inch head.

Every spec below comes from Skutt's product pages and its 2026 wheel price list, unless we name a retailer.

Quick picks

  • Skutt Legend: Best Skutt overall. Best for home potters who want a 14-inch head and the easiest splash pan to empty.
  • Skutt Classic: Best for production potters. Best for a heavy wheel with a built-in cast aluminum pan.
  • Skutt Prodigy: Best entry Skutt. Best for smaller work and tighter budgets.
  • Skutt Legend (1 HP): Best for heavy use. Best for big forms and shared studios.

Where to buy: Skutt wheels are sold through dealers, and Amazon carries only Skutt parts. The Speedball Big Boss is the closest full-size wheel we found on Amazon.

Comparison table

Wheel Best for Wheel head Standard motor Splash pan Reversing Shipping weight Warranty
Skutt Legend Most home potters 14 in 1/3 HP, 115 V, 4.2 A One-piece, removable Switch 117 lb 10 years
Skutt Classic Production work 14 in 1/3 HP, 115 V, 4.2 A Built-in, cast aluminum Switch 127 lb 10 years
Skutt Prodigy Entry level, smaller work 12 in 1/3 HP, 115 V, 4.2 A One-piece, removable No switch per spec table 94 lb 10 years (current page)
Skutt Legend (1 HP) Heavy use 14 in 1 HP (retailer listing) One-piece, removable Switch Not published 10 years

Skutt's 2026 price list says its SSX controller is now standard on all models. Skutt doesn't publish rpm ranges or centering capacity for any of them. More on why below.

Pottery wheel finder

Narrow down the wheels from our guides by where the wheel will live, the clay it is rated for and how it turns. Figures are the makers' or listed retailers' own; brands do not measure capacity the same way.

14 wheels from our guides.

  • Shimpo VL-Whisper

    Full-size

    100 lb rated clay · 14 in head

    Motor
    1/2 HP (400 W), direct drive
    Speed
    0–250 rpm, foot pedal
    Reverses
    Yes
    Warranty
    5 years
    Price tier
    Check current price

    Shimpo warns it may be harmful to people with a pacemaker.

    Read our guide
  • Shimpo RK-Whisper

    Compact floor

    100 lb rated clay · 12 in head

    Motor
    1/2 HP (400 W), direct drive
    Speed
    0–250 rpm, fixed pedal plus hand lever
    Reverses
    Yes
    Warranty
    5 years
    Price tier
    Check current price

    Splash pan sold separately. Same pacemaker warning as the VL-Whisper.

    Read our guide
  • Shimpo VL-Lite

    Compact floor or bench

    25 lb rated clay · 12 in head

    Motor
    100 W, belt drive
    Speed
    0–250 rpm, foot pedal
    Reverses
    Yes
    Warranty
    5 years
    Price tier
    Check current price

    51 lb, light enough to move.

    Read our guide
  • Shimpo Aspire

    Tabletop

    20 lb rated clay · 7 in head

    Motor
    100 W DC
    Speed
    0–230 rpm, hand lever (pedal kit available)
    Reverses
    Counterclockwise; clockwise version to order
    Warranty
    5 years
    Price tier
    Check current price

    7 in head with bat pins.

    Read our guide
  • Speedball Artista

    Tabletop

    25 lb rated clay · 11 in head

    Motor
    1/3 HP
    Speed
    0–220 rpm, hand lever (pedal optional)
    Reverses
    No: choose right- or left-handed at purchase
    Warranty
    5 years
    Price tier
    About $600–$1,000

    Warranty per retailer listing.

    Read our guide
  • Speedball Clay Boss

    Full-size

    100 lb rated clay · 14 in head

    Motor
    1/2 HP
    Speed
    0–240 rpm, foot pedal
    Reverses
    Yes, reversing plug
    Warranty
    10 years
    Price tier
    About $1,000–$1,500
    Read our guide
  • Speedball Big Boss

    Full-size

    175 lb rated clay · 14 in head

    Motor
    1.0 peak HP
    Speed
    0–240 rpm, foot pedal
    Reverses
    Yes, reversing plug
    Warranty
    10 years
    Price tier
    Check current price
    Read our guide
  • Laguna Pacifica GT400

    Full-size

    80 lb rated clay · 13 in head

    Motor
    1/2 HP
    Speed
    Foot pedal
    Reverses
    Yes, 3-position switch (retailer listing)
    Warranty
    5 years
    Price tier
    Check current price

    Warranty per retailer listing.

    Read our guide
  • Brent Model B

    Full-size

    150 lb continuous rated clay · 14 in head

    Motor
    1/2 HP, 5 A
    Speed
    0–240 rpm, foot pedal
    Reverses
    Yes, forward/reverse switch
    Warranty
    10 years
    Price tier
    High $2,000s

    Splash pan and a 14 in bat included.

    Read our guide
  • Brent Model C

    Full-size

    225 lb continuous rated clay · 14 in head

    Motor
    3/4 HP, 7 A
    Speed
    0–240 rpm, foot pedal
    Reverses
    Yes, forward/reverse switch
    Warranty
    10 years
    Price tier
    High $2,000s

    Splash pan and a 14 in bat included.

    Read our guide
  • Brent Model CXC

    Full-size

    300 lb continuous rated clay · 14 in head

    Motor
    1 HP, 10 A
    Speed
    0–240 rpm, foot pedal
    Reverses
    Yes, forward/reverse switch
    Warranty
    10 years
    Price tier
    High $2,000s

    Splash pan and a 14 in bat included.

    Read our guide
  • VEVOR 11in 450W

    Tabletop

    11 lb rated clay · 11 in head

    Motor
    450 W (as listed)
    Speed
    30–300 rpm, Hall-effect foot pedal
    Reverses
    Not listed
    Warranty
    Not specified
    Price tier
    About $100–$300

    No bat pins listed.

    Read our guide
  • VEVOR 11in 350W Kit

    Tabletop

    11 lb rated clay · 11 in head

    Motor
    350 W brushless
    Speed
    60–300 rpm, hand control and pedal
    Reverses
    Yes (listing)
    Warranty
    Not specified
    Price tier
    About $100–$300

    No bat pins listed.

    Read our guide
  • VEVOR 14in Height-Adjustable

    Tabletop

    18 lb (per listing) rated clay · 14 in head

    Motor
    280 W in bullets (450 W in title)
    Speed
    60–300 rpm, foot pedal
    Reverses
    Yes, reversible pedal
    Warranty
    Not specified
    Price tier
    Check current price

    Listing contradicts itself on wattage.

    Read our guide

Specs: manufacturer pages and the retailer listings named in our wheel reviews. Price tiers: our pottery wheel price guide, broad 2026 US ranges, not quotes.

What every Skutt wheel shares

Before the individual reviews, it helps to know what's the same across the line, because that's most of what you're paying for.

  • Continuous-duty motors. Skutt says it is the only company it knows of that uses continuous-duty rated motors. It describes these as tested under load until their temperature stops rising, built with heavier windings, larger brushes and stronger magnets, and cooled by a built-in fan.
  • A 6-groove belt. Skutt says its wheels use a 6 V-groove belt for a lot of surface contact and no slippage.
  • The SSX controller. Skutt describes it as having an extra-large capacitor for smoother speed changes. It ships with torque turned all the way up and IR Comp turned off. IR Comp is a feature that tries to hold speed under pressure. Skutt says its corrections lag and cause surges, and that most potters prefer to control speed with the pedal. Skutt will explain how to turn it on if you want it.
  • A smoother pedal. Skutt says its newer pedal uses frictionless nylon bushings and a water-tight potentiometer.
  • Removable wheel heads. Skutt says the head pops off "with a flick of the wrist," which makes cleaning easier.
  • What's in the box. Wheel head, splash pan, attached foot pedal, bat pins and manual.
  • A 10-year parts and labor warranty, per Skutt's current model pages.

Skutt's position on centering capacity

Most wheel makers publish a clay weight, such as 100 lb or 150 lb. Skutt doesn't. It argues that centering capacity can't be measured scientifically, because it depends on the potter and the clay. Instead, Skutt says it measured torque at the wheel head and claims the most torque of the wheels it tested. It also says potter Herrick Smith threw a 6-foot pot on the 1/3 HP motor with no sign of strain.

That's a reasonable position. We noted in our best pottery wheel guide that capacity ratings aren't comparable across brands anyway. But it means Skutt's claims can't be checked against a published number, and they're Skutt's own tests, not independent ones.

Every Skutt pottery wheel, reviewed

Skutt Legend: best Skutt overall

Who it's for: home and studio potters who want a full 14-inch head, a reversing switch and the least messy cleanup.

The Legend is Skutt's middle model, and the one Skutt says schools usually choose for its durability and easy cleaning. It has a 14-inch head, the standard 1/3 HP continuous-duty motor (115 V, 4.2 A), the SSX2 controller, a reversing switch and a cast metal frame. One distributor describes the frame as powder-coated, 5/16-inch cast aluminum.

The splash pan is the Legend's signature. Skutt describes it as a one-piece, removable pan that doesn't leak and can be carried to the reclaimer without emptying it. Compared with a two-piece pan, that saves real mess at the end of every session. Skutt's price list puts the Legend at the top of the three on price, slightly above the Classic, and it ships at about 117 lb.

Pros

  • 14-inch head for full-size work
  • One-piece removable splash pan that lifts out full
  • Reversing switch
  • 10-year parts and labor warranty

Cons

  • Highest list price of the three
  • No published rpm or capacity figures
  • 1/3 HP standard; more motor costs extra

Where to buy: Skutt sells its wheels through dealers, and Amazon carries only Skutt parts. Amazon-available alternative: the Speedball Big Boss. Speedball lists a 1.0 peak HP motor rated for 175 lb of clay, a 14-inch head, a 0–240 rpm foot pedal, a two-part splash pan and a 10-year warranty on new wheels. It reverses with a plug rather than a switch, and Speedball's peak HP figure isn't directly comparable to Skutt's continuous-duty ratings.

Skutt Classic: best for production potters

Who it's for: production potters and busy studios who want a heavy, planted wheel with a pan that never needs to come off.

Skutt calls the Classic the industry standard and the wheel production potters prefer. It shares the Legend's 14-inch head, 1/3 HP continuous-duty motor and SSX2 controller, and it has a reversible motor switch. The difference is the splash pan. On the Classic, it's built in and made of heavy cast aluminum. At about 127 lb shipping weight, it's also the heaviest of the three.

A built-in pan suits potters who throw all day and clean the pan in place, and it adds mass that keeps the wheel steady. It's less convenient if you like to carry the pan to a sink or reclaim bucket. Retailers such as School Specialty also list the Classic with a 1/2 HP motor.

Pros

  • Heavy build and built-in cast aluminum pan
  • 14-inch head and reversing switch
  • 10-year parts and labor warranty
  • 1/2 HP version available through retailers

Cons

  • Pan can't be lifted out to empty
  • Heaviest of the three to move
  • Close to the Legend on price

Where to buy: Skutt sells its wheels through dealers, and Amazon carries only Skutt parts. Amazon-available alternative: the Speedball Big Boss. Speedball lists a 1.0 peak HP motor rated for 175 lb of clay, a 14-inch head, a 0–240 rpm foot pedal, a two-part splash pan and a 10-year warranty on new wheels. It reverses with a plug rather than a switch, and Speedball's peak HP figure isn't directly comparable to Skutt's continuous-duty ratings.

Skutt Prodigy: best entry Skutt

Who it's for: potters who want Skutt's motor and warranty at the lowest price in the line, and mostly throw small to medium pieces.

Skutt pitches the Prodigy as its introductory wheel, with "power and value." It uses the same 1/3 HP continuous-duty motor (115 V, 4.2 A) and Skutt lists the SSX controller, with a heavy-duty cast metal frame, an attached pedal and a one-piece removable splash pan. The head is smaller, at 12 inches, and the wheel is lighter, at about 94 lb shipping weight. Skutt's price list puts it noticeably below the Legend and Classic, and says Skutt's adjustable leg extension set is now available for the Prodigy too.

Reversing is the detail to confirm. Skutt's spec table lists no reversing switch. Skutt has said it left the switch off deliberately because many Prodigys go to schools, and that you can reverse direction by switching the polarity connection on the motor. But one current Skutt page also states that all Skutt wheels come with a reversing switch. If you throw clockwise, ask Skutt or your dealer before you buy. The warranty also needs a check: Skutt's current Prodigy page lists 10 years, while an older Skutt page listed five.

Pros

  • Lowest-priced Skutt
  • Same continuous-duty motor as the bigger models
  • Lighter and easier to move
  • Leg extension set now available

Cons

  • 12-inch head
  • Reversing switch status needs confirming
  • Mixed warranty information across Skutt pages

Where to buy: Skutt sells its wheels through dealers, and Amazon carries only Skutt parts. Amazon-available alternative: the Speedball Big Boss. Speedball lists a 1.0 peak HP motor rated for 175 lb of clay, a 14-inch head, a 0–240 rpm foot pedal, a two-part splash pan and a 10-year warranty on new wheels. It reverses with a plug rather than a switch, and Speedball's peak HP figure isn't directly comparable to Skutt's continuous-duty ratings.

Skutt Legend (1 HP): best for heavy use

Who it's for: potters throwing big forms, teaching, or sharing one wheel between several people.

Skutt's own pages describe the 1/3 HP motor as standard, but retailers sell the Legend with bigger motors. School Specialty lists Legend wheels with 1/2 HP and 1 HP motors, and New Mexico Clay describes the 1/2 HP and 1 HP motors as optional upgrades. Skutt's parts list confirms it supplies 1/2 HP and 1 HP 90-volt DC wheel motors. The rest of the wheel is the same Legend: 14-inch head, removable one-piece pan, reversing switch and warranty.

Do you need it? Skutt argues that its 1/3 HP motor already has more torque than many rivals' at the same rating. For most home potters, the standard Legend is enough. The 1 HP version earns its keep if the wheel runs for hours with large amounts of clay, or if you want to remove any doubt about power.

Pros

  • Most motor in the Skutt line
  • Same Legend splash pan and 14-inch head
  • Good for shared studios and big work

Cons

  • Costs more than the standard Legend
  • Skutt doesn't publish separate specs for upgraded motors
  • More power than most hobbyists use

Where to buy: Skutt sells its wheels through dealers, and Amazon carries only Skutt parts. Amazon-available alternative: the Speedball Big Boss. Speedball lists a 1.0 peak HP motor rated for 175 lb of clay, a 14-inch head, a 0–240 rpm foot pedal, a two-part splash pan and a 10-year warranty on new wheels. It reverses with a plug rather than a switch, and Speedball's peak HP figure isn't directly comparable to Skutt's continuous-duty ratings.

Skutt vs Brent vs Shimpo

Skutt Legend Brent Model B Shimpo VL-Whisper
Standard motor 1/3 HP, continuous duty 1/2 HP, 5 A 1/2 HP (400 W), direct drive
Drive 6-groove belt Belt Direct drive, no belt
Rated capacity Not published 150 lb (continuous) 100 lb
Head 14 in 14 in 14 in
Splash pan One-piece, removable Included Included
Warranty 10 years 10 years 5 years
  • Choose Skutt if splash-pan cleanup matters to you, or you like Skutt's controller philosophy (pedal control, no IR Comp).
  • Choose Brent if you want published capacity figures, a huge installed base and strong resale value. See our Brent pottery wheel review.
  • Choose Shimpo if quiet operation matters most. The VL-Whisper's direct drive has no belt at all. See our Shimpo review.

Buying guide: what to check before buying a Skutt

Head size

The 14-inch head on the Legend and Classic is the full-size standard and fits the widest range of bats. The Prodigy's 12-inch head is fine for mugs and bowls but limits large platters. Skutt sells its own ABS bats in 13-inch and 15-inch sizes. Check bat-pin spacing before buying third-party bats.

Splash pan style

This is the clearest difference in the lineup. Removable one-piece (Legend, Prodigy) is easiest to empty. Built-in cast aluminum (Classic) is sturdier but cleaned in place.

Reversing

Left-handed potters and anyone who trims or decorates in both directions should get a wheel with a switch. The Legend and Classic have one. Confirm the Prodigy's with Skutt.

Motor size

The standard 1/3 HP covers most hobby work, according to Skutt. Consider 1/2 HP or 1 HP versions, sold through retailers, for big forms or shared use.

Height

Skutt sells an adjustable leg extension set and a shaft extension. If you'd like to throw standing, add the leg set. Our guide to pottery wheels for adults covers working height in detail.

Accessories

Skutt's price list includes a cup head system with ring molds for making repeated forms, ABS bats, and replacement parts including pedals, controllers and motors. Long parts availability is a good sign for a wheel you plan to keep.

Used Skutt and Thomas Stuart wheels

Skutt bought the Thomas Stuart wheel line, and retailers describe today's Skutt wheels as that line under a new name. Skutt keeps a legacy wheel section and a parts list on its site. Its price list still includes kick wheel parts and a kick wheel motor attachment, which matters if you find an older Skutt kick wheel (see our kick wheel vs electric guide). Before buying a used wheel, check the motor, pedal and head for wobble, as our used pottery wheel guide explains.

How we chose

We didn't test these wheels in person. We built this review from Skutt's product pages, its features pages and its 2026 wheel price list, plus retailer and distributor listings (School Specialty, New Mexico Clay, Chesapeake Ceramics) for motor options and frame details. Where Skutt's own pages disagree, as with the Prodigy's reversing switch and warranty, we say so instead of picking one.

FAQ

Is Skutt a good pottery wheel brand?

Yes. Skutt is a long-established US kiln and wheel maker, and its wheels carry a 10-year parts and labor warranty on Skutt's current product pages. They use continuous-duty motors, cast frames and Skutt's SSX controller. Skutt's torque claims are its own, so compare them with hands-on time at a studio if you can.

What is the difference between the Skutt Legend and the Classic?

Both have a 14-inch head, a 1/3 HP standard motor, a reversing switch and a 10-year warranty. The Legend has a one-piece removable splash pan that Skutt says can be carried to the reclaim bucket full. The Classic has a built-in cast aluminum splash pan and is the heavier wheel, at 127 lb shipping weight versus 117 lb.

Does the Skutt Prodigy reverse?

Not with a switch, according to Skutt's spec table. Skutt has said it left the reversing switch off the Prodigy deliberately because many go to schools, and that the direction can be reversed by switching the polarity connection on the motor. One current Skutt page also says all its wheels come with a reversing switch, so confirm with Skutt or your dealer before buying.

Is 1/3 HP enough for a pottery wheel?

For most hobby work, yes, especially from a continuous-duty motor. Skutt says a 6-foot pot was thrown on its 1/3 HP motor without straining. If you regularly center very large amounts of clay, retailers also sell Skutt's Legend and Classic with 1/2 HP or 1 HP motors.

What happened to Thomas Stuart wheels?

Skutt bought the Thomas Stuart wheel line, and potters quoted on Skutt's own site describe the quality as unchanged after the purchase. Retailers describe the current Skutt wheels as the line previously sold as Thomas Stuart, with a simplified lineup. Skutt keeps a legacy wheel section on its site, and some accessories, such as leg extension sets, are sold as fitting Thomas Stuart wheels.

Verdict

The Skutt Legend is the Skutt pottery wheel most potters should buy: a 14-inch head, a reversing switch, a 10-year warranty and a splash pan you can lift out and carry while it's full. Pick the Classic if you want a heavier wheel with a built-in pan, and the Prodigy if budget matters more than head size. If you're cross-shopping, a Brent Model B gives you published capacity and resale value, and a Shimpo VL-Whisper gives you silence.